The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Pumpkin Spiced Cupcakes

I stumbled upon this recipe by accident while I was Googling wedding cakes. Apparently, it’s a bohemian pumpkin spiced wedding cake. Recently, I’ve been having a love affair with pumpkin. I’ve tried pumpkin soup, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin pasta, pumpkin cinnamon rolls, and pumpkin oatmeal (oh yeah, it was good!). Why not pumpkin cake?

And since it’s the eve of my birthday, I thought a cupcake made from a spiced veggie would be a great idea. As usual, I pureed a fresh pumpkin myself.

I wonder if it’ll be as tasty as the carrot and ginger and cinnamon muffin. Or the whole-wheat apple muffins.

They smelled heavenly even while in the oven.

I made the best ever frosting again. And I did it properly this time. One has to stir constantly over very low heat and not leave the stove alone even if you get bored!

I only ate one. And made sure I had enough packed for tomorrow. The rest are Dad’s since he’s been impatiently eying them.

In spite of the above, I still managed to bake a couple of small, frosted chocolate sheet cakes for my godson, Tobey. His 6th birthday is the day after mine, but he’s celebrating it in school tomorrow. Happy birthday, Tobey!!!

And now, the recipe. 😀

Pumpkin Spiced Cupcake
Adapted from Eat Live Run

Yields 22 medium cupcakes

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
16 ounces (2 cups) pureed pumpkin
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp salt
1 cups brown sugar
1 cup canola oil
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup honey

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Place paper liners over your muffin pan. Set aside.

In a bowl, combine the dry ingredients (flours, spices, salt and baking soda). Mix well.

In another bowl, whisk together the canola oil, eggs, pumpkin, honey, brown sugar and vanilla. Add the dry ingredients and stir to combine.

Spoon batter into the paper cupcake liners. It should be about 2/3 full. Bake for about 12-15 minutes, or until a wooden toothpick is dry when you insert it in the middle of a cupcake. Transfer to a tray and let cool. Frost as desired or eat it as it is. The cake is very moist and tasty on its own.

Take a seat and enjoy every bite.

3 responses to “Pumpkin Spiced Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Just Another Day « Karma & Apollo

  2. Pingback: Roasted Pork with Apricot Preserves « The Virgin Stove

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Sheet Cake with the Best Frosting Ever « The Virgin Stove

Leave a Reply

