The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Simple Roast Chicken with Soy Orange Sauce

First, let me apologize about the photos. My dSLR’s battery ran out of energy and I left the charger in Apartment #1. Of course, I was crushed when I saw the little flashing red light. I had to take pictures using my cellphone and if you’re used to clear, bright photos, cellphones will always let you down. It’s a good thing that my luck held when it came to dinner because the chicken didn’t fail me.

Or rather, Smitten Kitchen’s Zuni Cafe Chicken didn’t fail me. I just love this woman and her recipes. My mother was also on Skype and shared the useful trick about covering the chicken. She said that this will allow the chicken to cook fully without drying. I had to use dried herbs since I stopped buying them fresh for the time being. Whenever I buy fresh ones I never get to use them all and find it painful to throw a big bunch of parsley or thyme away. Good thing rosemary keeps its flavor even when dried.

I had to cook dinner for nine women and decided to serve the chickens whole in the same pan where I baked them. And because I made orange chocolate cake for dessert, I had so much orange juice that I didn’t want to waste so I just made easy soy-orange sauce based on a recipe I found on Cooks.

Okay, I’ll start yapping and just give you the recipe. 🙂


SIMPLE ROAST CHICKEN
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

1 chicken (1.2-1.4 kg)
1 teaspoon cracked black pepper
3/4 teaspoon salt + more for exfoliating
1 teaspoon dried rosemary

Procedure:

(1-3 days before)

  1. Exfoliate a defrosted bird with coarse salt like kosher or sea salt. The griller bird you get out the package isn’t exactly ready to cook. Exfoliate it like the way you scrub your skin. This’ll get rid of excess dirt and icky things.
  2. Remove and discard the thick layer of fat off (not the skin) from underneath.
  3. Rinse the chicken well and pat dry with kitchen paper towels. It’s going to be damp and cool but make sure it’s not dripping wet.
  4. Combine the pepper, salt and rosemary. Rub the mixture onto your chicken, concentrating on the areas where the meat is thicker.
  5. Place on a small plate/pan, cover with cling film, and refrigerate until you’re ready to cook it.

(The day you cook it)

  1. Preheat the oven to 475 degrees F for 20 minutes.
  2. Preheat a pan that’s approximately the size of the chicken for 5 minutes over medium heat.
  3. Lay the bird breast up on the pan. Loosely cover with aluminum foil.
  4. Once the oven is ready, bake for 30 minutes (longer if you’re cooking more than one chicken).
  5. Take the foil off and bake until the skin is browned (around 15-20 minutes more) and juices are clear if pierced.
  6. For extra skin crispiness, broil at high for 5 minutes before taking it off.
  7. Let the chicken rest for 15 minutes. Garnish with slices of oranges around it and serve whole.

SOY ORANGE SAUCE
Adapted from Cooks

3/4 cups fresh squeezed orange juice
4 teaspoons soy sauce
4 teaspoons canola oil
4 teaspoons cornstarch
3 teaspoons water
2 teaspoons sugar

Procedure:

  1. Combine ingredients in a pan.
  2. Cook over medium heat and bring to a boil, whisking constantly.
  3. As soon as the mixture thickens, remove from heat.
  4. Cool for 10 minutes and transfer to a bowl or gravy boat.
One response to “Simple Roast Chicken with Soy Orange Sauce

  1. Pingback: A Fruity Dinner « Karma & Apollo

Leave a Reply

