The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Cinnamon Muffins

For last night’s potluck, I had to think of something that wouldn’t require me to go out and buy ingredients. The first thing I thought of was cinnamon. I had lots of cinnamon! I browsed through recipes of various cinnamon rolls and breads but due to my previous efforts, I knew that any sort of bread would take forever and a day.

I needed something quick because I only had a few hours. Plus, I was distracted by The Walking Dead as I was trying to find time to watch all 5 episodes in one afternoon on top of all the stuff I had to do. Yep, zombies. Very appetizing.

It’s my first time to try out a recipe from King Arthur Flour. It requires lots of oats on the streusel topping, which was a big selling point for me. (I LOVE oats!) The muffins require 3-4 layers and I’m sure this first effort was a bit messy as the supposed creamy filling just managed to make it look marbled. I opted against a sugar drizzle since the streusel was already loaded with brown sugar. I also used chopped walnuts instead of pecans.

I used paper liners at first but the muffins ended up looking untidy. Pieces crumbled away and the the paper kept on separating from the muffin. Results were much better with a lightly-greased muffin pan. The muffins didn’t stick to the pan and I had no problem taking each one out. The caramel will ooze over the top of the muffins so place a baking sheet beneath your muffin pan to avoid drips.

The muffin is sturdier than I expected. It’s a solid snack and is more appropriate for brunch or teatime than as a dessert. But that didn’t stop Dad from finishing two right after lunch.

Is it yummy? Yes. But it’s not too sweet either. If you’re hoping for sugar overload, better pour confectionery sugar drizzle over it. I like it as it is and it tastes great with Japanese green tea. Thanks for the tea, Cris. 😀

CINNAMON MUFFINS
Adapted from King Arthur Flour

Topping
1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
1/3 cup diced walnuts
1/4 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons (1/2 stick) butter, room temperature

Filling
3 tablespoons (1/2 stick) butter, room temperature
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons ground cinnamon

Batter
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
3/4 cup milk
2 large eggs
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
2 tablespoons cornstarch
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup cinnamon chips or butterscotch chips (optional)

Procedure

  • Preheat your oven to 400°F. Grease a muffin pan lightly.
  • Prepare the topping by mixing the ingredients together until crumbly. Set aside.
  • Prepare the filling by mixing all ingredients until it has a soft, pudding-like consistency. Set it aside.

To make the batter:

  • In a large bowl, whisk together the melted butter, milk, and eggs. In a separate bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients, including the chips. Add the dry mixture to the liquid, stirring just until combined.
  • Divide half the batter evenly among the muffin cups. Dollop 2 teaspoons cinnamon filling onto each muffin, then top with the remaining batter. Sprinkle with topping, pressing it in lightly.
  • Bake the muffins for 20 to 25 minutes, or until they’re golden brown. Remove them from the oven and wait 5 minutes before transferring them from the pan to a rack to cool.
  • KAF says it’ll yield 12 muffins but I made 18.
One response to “Cinnamon Muffins

  1. Pingback: Natural Light « Karma & Apollo

Leave a Reply

