The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Strawberry Milk Cake

It’s Valentines Day. Or at least it was 48 minutes ago. But that’s not the only reason I tried this strawberry milk cake recipe from The Kitchn. The photos made it look so scrumptious that I’ve been obsessing about it for days and I figured that’s a valid enough reason to bake it. 🙂

I don’t usually buy strawberry milk unless either sibling – Jiko or Sofia – is around since they’re the only ones who like the artificial strawberry flavor. But I’m willing to put my doubts aside for the sake of experimentation.

The recipe is ridiculously easy. I made the cake itself in between breaks from watching The King’s Speech.

But I made a boo-boo with the frosting. Instead of using heavy whipped cream, I used heavy plain cream. The recipe didn’t specify but I should have known better. 😦 Still, the “frosting” made a very nice pale pink ganache.

I wasn’t able to bring Valentine goodies yesterday so I’m taking this to work tomorrow. I made two of these heart-shaped cakes. I’m sure Tita E would love to have this with her morning coffee.

I’m going to make this cake again for our all-girl get-together next week. But with whipped cream this time!

STRAWBERRY MILK CAKE
From The Kitchn

Cake:

2 large eggs
1 3/4 cups sugar
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup scalded strawberry milk
1/4 cup butter

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and grease two cake pans, set aside. Beat the eggs, vanilla and sugar until fully combined (I used a whisk). In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt. Add flour to egg mixture, mixing until just combined. In a small sauce pan, heat milk until almost boiling (there will be a little steam and a few small bubbles on the side of the pan), add butter and turn off heat, stirring until butter is fully melted. Pour scalded milk/butter into the batter, stir until combined. Bake for about 35 minutes, until done.

Frosting:

1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, room temperature
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
2 cups heavy whipped cream
red food coloring (optional)
Sliced fresh strawberries (optional decoration)

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the cream cheese, sugar, vanilla and almond extract until smooth. With the mixer on medium speed, slowly pour in the heavy cream. Whip until the cream holds a stiff peak, about 3 minutes. Lastly, add the food coloring if using. Decorate the cake after it’s fully cooled.

One response to “Strawberry Milk Cake

  1. Pingback: Butternut Squash and Chicken Pasta « The Virgin Stove

Leave a Reply

