The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Whole Wheat Carrot Muffins

I like to think of these as “healthy” muffins. Sure there’s still flour, but it’s whole wheat flour. Sugar is discarded in lieu of natural honey. There are loads of grated carrot involved. The only thing I can think of that’s not healthy is the butter. If you’re a real health nut, maybe you can substitute the butter for olive or canola oil but I don’t know how good the muffins would taste.

I made two batches a couple of hours before work when I woke up too early and decided I was bored. I tried grating the carrots the pioneer way: by hand like a boss! Sadly, I gave up even before the first carrot was done. My fingers were scratched, the carrot wasn’t faring much better, and seeing the number of freshly peeled carrots that were still waiting to be grated discouraged me.

So I asked my (very sleepy) dad to set up the grinder for me. The Moulinex is about 20 years old, possibly older, and has seen and ground a lot of stuff over the years. The carrots were grated perfectly and efficiently in 5 minutes tops.

The muffins baked very quickly. I used the old gas oven in Apartment #1, which can be tricky if you’re not used to these types of ovens. I’ve learned not to time baked stuff. I just use my nose, eyes and a toothpick. Meaning, (1) if the smell permeates the kitchen, it’s probably done or close to it, (2) open the oven a bit to check the color, and (3) pierce a toothpick through the middle of the cake to check if the doughy bits would stick or if it would come out dry. Take them out of the oven before the edges turn brown.

I really like the subtle bite of cinnamon and garlic in these muffins. So did Tita E, Fatma, and my brother.  Jiko probably ate one whole batch all by himself. Please don’t invite him to dinner parties unless you’re sure that you have prepared XXXL servings for him. 😛

Whole Wheat Carrot Muffins
Adapted from Serious Eats

serves 10 to 12 (makes 18 muffins)

10 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled a bit
2 cups (7 ounces) finely grated carrot
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice from 2 lemons
2 large eggs, room temperature
3/4 liquid cup honey
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger

Olive oil for greasing tin

Adjust oven rack to middle position and preheat oven to 350 degrees. Brush muffin tin with olive oil. Toss the carrots with the lemon juice in medium bowl. Add eggs, butter, and honey to bowl and whisk to combine.

Whisk together whole wheat flour, cake flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and ginger in large bowl. Add carrot mixture to bowl with dry ingredients and stir with wooden spoon until combined. Beat vigorously with wooden spoon for 30 seconds.

Fill wells of muffin tins a little more than halfway with batter. Bake 15-18 minutes, until the centers of the muffins spring back when lightly pressed with a finger tip.

[print recipe]

Leave a Reply

