The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Honey Mustard Chicken Salad

It’s not that I haven’t been eating since May. I just haven’t been posting since May. I will offer no excuse aside from pure laziness. (Which means I would be posting stuff as often as I can this week.)

Anyway, since I’m here, I thought I could start with something healthy.

I really like the chicken salad with honey mustard dressing I used to eat in Starbucks when I was in college. Sadly, I can’t find it in Starbucks where I live right now. So I just decided to make my own.

It’s simple enough. I cut and tossed a few vegetables, cooked chicken breast strips in a tiny bit of olive oil, blended the dressing and it was done.

And here’s the recipe. 😀

Chicken Salad

1 head of romaine lettuce, chopped coarsely
3 medium carrots, peeled, grated
1/2 cup red cabbage, sliced in thin strips
2 medium tomatoes, chopped (if you have cherry tomatoes, use those instead)
2 skinless chicken breast fillets, sliced diagonally into strips
1 tsp ground pepper
1 tsp salt

  • Toss the chicken, salt and pepper in a bowl. Let stand for half an hour.
  • Submerge the pieces of red cabbage in boiling water for one minute. Drain. This’ll soften the cabbage.
  • Toss the lettuce, carrots, red cabbage and tomatoes together.
  • Coat a pan with a (very) small amount of olive oil. Heat chicken strips until cooked.
  • Combine the veggies, chicken and top with dressing (see below).
  • Eat.
Honey Mustard Dressing
5 tbsp honey
3 tbsp mustard
1-2 tbsp vinegar
3 tbsp mayonnaise (optional) [I didn’t use this]
  • Mix all ingredients together in one bowl until finely blended.

[print recipe]

Leave a Reply

