The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Baked Mussels with Oats and Tomato

I was feeling particularly adventurous. Baked mussels and tomatoes are okay. But oats?! I first used oats in meatballs and I’m fascinated about using it in a dozen other ways now that I know how versatile it is.

I previously made garlic butter baked mussels using a more traditional recipe. While I wanted to eat baked mussels again, I didn’t want to eat the same exact dish so soon. So I decided to experiment.

I was a little nervous but, thankfully, it wasn’t the horrible dish I feared it would be. The oats lent a nice crunch to the soft mussels. I ate it with half a cup of white rice. What’s your side dish of choice?

Recipe after the jump.

Baked Mussels with Oats and Tomato

Serves one

8 mussels, top shell removed
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 1/2 tablespoons quick cooking oats
6 cloves of garlic, minced
3 tablespoons grated romano cheese
1 teaspoon oregano
2 small peeled tomatoes (fresh or canned), crushed
grated black pepper

  • Preheat oven at 350 degrees F.
  • Lay mussels on a wide pan over very low heat shell sides down. Sprinkle with a little salt. Cover. Heat for 10 minutes. Place on a tray and drizzle with olive oil.
  • Combine oats, garlic, cheese and oregano and cover each mussel with the mixture. Top with crushed tomatoes and sprinkle with black pepper.
  • Bake for 10 minutes. Enjoy. 🙂

[print recipe]

Leave a Reply

