The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Sesame Pan Seared Salmon with Tomato Egg Pasta

This marks two firsts for me: cooking salmon and pan searing. I didn’t even know what pan searing meant until I was in my twenties. *facepalms*

I bought a nice Norwegian salmon fillet and I was determined to eat it soon. I didn’t want to ruin it so I tried to look for a recipe that could be a base for what I had in mind.

This is one of the days when I wish I have wine. But this is a non-alcoholic country so we just have to make do with non-alcoholic alternatives and all I had in the fridge was sparkling grape juice. Oh well.

I learned quite a bit from this first effort. If you’re finicky about not eating raw fish but don’t like to eat dried tasteless fish meat, then cut the fillet in two before searing. Some recipes recommend searing for two minutes on each side but I found that it isn’t enough so it’s better to do it a bit longer.

I served the fish with a side of pasta in tomato and egg.

Was the dish bad? Not at all! I liked it. But I would love to try changing it a bit and experimenting more so I can get the hang of cooking salmon. Recipe after the jump.

Pan Seared Salmon with Tomato Egg Pasta

Serves two. Or one if you have an enormous appetite.

Salmon:
Loosely based from this recipe from good to know

1 salmon fillet
1/2 cup red wine (use sparkling grape juice as a non-alcoholic alternative)
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon sugar (optional)
1 tablespoon ground black pepper
2 tablespoons roasted sesame seeds
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

If desired, cut fillet in two. Over medium heat, mix wine (or juice), sugar and soy sauce together until it boils. Remove from heat. Marinate fillet in mixture for 30 minutes turning it over once.

Combine and spread ground pepper and sesame seeds on a plate. Coat the fillets with the sesame seed mixture.

Coat a non-stick pan with olive oil. Over medium heat, sear salmon fillets for 4 minutes on each side or until cooked to your liking.

Pasta:

150 g pasta (I used rotini)
1 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
6 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 medium tomato, sliced in small cubes
1 egg
1 teaspoon dried or fresh basil
Salt

Cook pasta al dente according to package instructions. Set aside 1/4 cup pasta water. Drain.

Whack the garlic cloves with the side of your knife before chopping. Slice tomatoes in half, remove seeds and slice in small pieces. Saute garlic and tomatoes in olive oil. When the garlic is lightly browned, pour pasta water into the pan. Lower heat and simmer for 5 minutes to soften the tomatoes.

Uncover pan and reduce liquid. Toss the pasta into the pan and combine with tomatoes. Beat the egg in a separate bowl and pour over the pasta. Mix ingredients quickly and thoroughly for 1 minute to make sure the egg coats the pasta. Season with basil and salt.

Remove from heat and serve on a platter with the seared salmon.

[print recipe]

One response to “Sesame Pan Seared Salmon with Tomato Egg Pasta

  1. Pingback: Baked Salmon with Caramelized Onions « The Virgin Stove

Leave a Reply

