The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Baked Salmon with Caramelized Onions

I did say that I will try a different recipe for salmon. After my previous try, I decided that I didn’t want to just sear the salmon. It was tasty but I didn’t like the slightly uncooked center; because I seared it for less than the recommended time, I had to cut and reheat it just so I can eat it. Because salmon is an oilier fish compared to the white stuff that I’m used to eating, I baked it this time.

If the previous recipe was sweet, then this one was slightly spicy. I’ve always liked onions and I was attracted to the recipe when I first encountered it. So I made it simpler and easier to cook for those who don’t have a lot of time to prepare.

Served it with your side dish of choice. I don’t really like salads because I prefer my vegetables cooked so I served the salmon with a bowl of zucchini rice. Recipe after the jump.

Baked Salmon with Caramelized Onions
Based on this recipe from allrecipes.com

Serves two

3 medium onions
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
1 tablespoon red wine
1 teaspoon soy sauce

2 teaspoons ground black pepper
1 teaspoon salt (or add more according to your taste)
1 tablespoon chili powder (or 2 to to make it more spicy)
1 tablespoon dijon mustard
2 teaspoons EVOO

400-450 g (14-16 oz) salmon fillet
1 tablespoon EVOO

Peel onions and chop them across the grain. Saute in EVOO until tender and brown. Add wine and soy sauce, reduce for 2 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Bake salmon fillet for 10 minutes.

Combine the pepper, salt, chili powder, mustard and olive oil and mix into a paste. Spread evenly over both sides of the salmon fillet.

Coat non-stick pan with a thin layer of EVOO. Over high heat, sear the salmon fillet for 2 minutes on each side.

Transfer to a plate and top with caramelized onions.

[print recipe]

Leave a Reply

