The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Date Time: Stacked Strawberry French Toast

I was craving for French toast for days. And I had to do something with the two packs of fresh strawberries C and I bought a few days ago. And I figured he could use a little cheering up.

I made the honey-wheat bread myself using Danielle’s recipe. I haven’t perfected it yet so that will be a whole post of its own sometime in the near future when I feel more confident and have photographic evidence. 😛 I’m sure most of us already have our own recipes for French toast but I added mine here for those who do not.

This is quite heavy so we had this for brunch and skipped lunch altogether. Have fun with your own stay-at-home date!

Here’s my husband’s deconstructed toast:

Stacked Strawberry French Toast

French Toast:
1 tablespoon butter
4 slices of your favorite bread
1/4 cup milk
1 egg
1 teaspoon sugar

Beat the milk, egg and sugar in a shallow bowl. Melt the butter and coat the surface of a wide frying pan over medium heat. Quickly dip each slice of the bread in the egg mixture on both sides and place them on the pan. Fry for 30-60 seconds on each side or until it turns a light golden brown.

Stacks:
12 strawberries, cut in half
Cream cheese (I used Philadelphia)
Chocolate or hazelnut spread like Nutella
Whipped cream
Chocolate syrup

Spread cream cheese over a slice of french toast. Generously spread chocolate or hazelnut cream over another slice. Top the cream cheese slice with 6 pieces of strawberries (3 fruits). Place the other slice (hazelnut/chocolate side down) over it. Cover the with 6 more strawberry halves. Top with whipped cream and drizzle with chocolate syrup.

Assemble the other exactly the same way with the remaining ingredients.

Serves two.

[print recipe]

Leave a Reply

