The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Sweet and Spicy Chicken Nuggets

When I bought a pack of chicken nuggets in Shoprite, Chris nearly had a seizure because I was buying *gasp* junk food. I tartly told him that I do eat processed food every once in a while and I have nothing against decent breaded chicken nuggets. But this doesn’t mean that I won’t make a homemade version.

I was still despondent over my failed attempt to make lumpia for the first time so I drowned my sorrows over a plate of these crispy, delectable, spicy cutlets. Chris became instantly addicted and bragged about it to our friends. He even suggested making a batch to bring to our upcoming Atlantic City trip with the AC gang.

I do have a secret to tell you. I was actually trying to cook Korean fried chicken but things didn’t work out the way I thought they would. I ended up with this dish, which I think is quite good considering how easy and simple it is.

I served this with a side of buttered asparagus. Enjoy. 🙂

Sweet and Spicy Chicken Nuggets

Serves 3

Nuggets:
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into 2-inch strips
1 tablespoon sea salt
1 medium onion, chopped
3 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 cup corn starch
1 egg
1/3 cup water
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/4 cup cooking oil

Sauce:
2/3 cup sweet chili sauce (like this store-bought one I used)
1 heaped tablespoon tomato ketchup
1 teaspoon garlic chili (see recipe here)
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

In a bowl, toss chicken cutlets, sea salt, garlic and onion together. Cover and leave for at least 30 minutes.

Mix corn starch, egg, and black pepper in a small bowl. Add water slowly until the corn starch mixture is dissolved. Add a little more if mixture is too thick.

Dip chicken cutlets into corn starch batter and fry in oil over medium heat, turning once until both sides are golden brown. Let rest on paper napkins to absorb excess oil.

Blend all the sauce ingredients and pour over chicken. Serve hot.

[print recipe]

Leave a Reply

