The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Peach, Plum and Blueberry Cobbler

We had a surplus of fruits in the house and I didn’t think that I could eat everything within two days. I initially wanted to make a rerun of the plum cake since my first effort crashed and burned so spectacularly. But we didn’t just have plums, we also had gobs of blueberries.

So what can I make that would accommodate a variety of fruits? Hmmm… cobbler?

What’s ironic is that I’ve never eaten cobbler before so I cannot compare my end product to others. I have to rely solely on taste and the opinions of those who eat it. I’ve also heard of peach blueberry cobbler but I don’t remember seeing a recipe with plums in it. But since this blog is all about experimentation, then why not try?

I did the cardinal sin of tweaking a recipe of a dish that I’ve never made before, which is why I was quite anxious while it was in the oven. What if it turns out badly? Then I would have wasted a boatload of fruits. This is the last thing I want to do since my mom made sure that we would be forever cautious of wasting food considering all the starving children in third world countries.

Luckily, it seems to have turned out well. Just according to my taste, I think I’ve done a pretty good job for a maiden effort. 🙂 Can it be improved? Probably. I want to make it healthier and experiment with wheat flour, maybe use other fruits. But for now, I’m quite pleased with the results.

Happy Valentines Day, everyone!

Peach, Plum and Blueberry Cobbler
Based on Smitten Kitchen’s recipe

Serves an army (Ok, fine, maybe 10-12)

For the fruit
2 cups (4 medium) peaches, pitted and sliced (or one 15 oz can sliced peaches, drained)
2 cups blueberries, rinsed and dried
2 – 2 1/2 cups (10 small) plums, pitted and sliced
1 1/3 cups packed dark-brown sugar
4 heaped tablespoons flour
4 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt

For the biscuit topping
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup quick cooking oats
6 tablespoons dark brown sugar
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons (one stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into little pieces
3/4 cup whole milk

Preheat oven to 425°F. Toss fruits, sugar, flour, lemon juice, cinnamon and salt together and spread evenly on the bottom of one 11 x 14 or two 8 x 8 ovenproof pans.

Make the biscuit dough: Stir together the flour, oatmeal, brown sugar, baking powder and salt. Work the butter into the dry mixture with your fingertips, a fork or a pastry blender. Stir in milk with a spatula until a wet, tacky dough comes together. If the dough is too wet, add a handful of oats.

Plop large spoonfuls of the biscuit dough over the filling; don’t worry about covering entire surface. Bake until the cobbler’s syrup is bubbly and the biscuit tops are browned, about 30-35 minutes. Let cool slightly and scoop it into bowls. Top with whipped cream, vanilla ice cream, or plain yogurt. Or just eat it as is.

Note: This recipe can be halved if you need a smaller amount. Just shorten the baking time to 20 minutes.

[print recipe]

3 responses to “Peach, Plum and Blueberry Cobbler

  1. Bam's Kitchen 15 February 2012 at 5:26 am

    I love cobblers and this one sounds so yummy with all the different kinds of fruits. BAM

  2. Pingback: My First Valentine’s Day… with my Husband. | Karma & Apollo

Leave a Reply

