The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Eggplant Rollatini

Decisions.

Should I make eggplant rollatini without bacon? I don’t have ham. And I don’t have prosciutto because I forgot to pick some up from Botto’s the last time I was there. It can be served without any meat, right? But what is life without bacon? Well, bacon it is.

Most cook eggplant rollatini with the bacon/ham/prosciutto rolled inside the eggplant along with ricotta cheese. I did the opposite and wrapped it over the rolled eggplant to keep it secure. By the time I was done, it looked like a swankier version of pigs-in-a-blanket.

This can be served alone or with a side of pasta. If you’re doing the latter, don’t skimp on the tomato sauce. Pile it on, baby! Trust me, you’ll need it.

Recipe after the jump.

Eggplant Rollatini

from Martha Stewart’s Recipes

2 whole large eggplants, sliced lengthwise about 1/3 – 1/2 inch thick (12 slices)
2 cups fresh ricotta cheese
4 tablespoons Parmesan cheese (3 for the filling and 1 for sprinkling)
1 egg
salt and ground black pepper (measured according to taste)
12 slices of prosciutto, ham or bacon (for a vegetarian dish, skip this)
2-3 cups prepared tomato sauce, homemade or store-bought (or see my sauce recipe here)
2/3 cup grated mozzarella cheese
1 pound of cooked pasta (optional)

  • Bake the sliced eggplants for 15 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees, flipping once. You can also fry them over medium heat with a little bit of olive oil, cooking both sides for 2 minutes.
  • Add ricotta cheese, 3 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese, salt and pepper, and egg in a bowl and whisk until combined well.
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Spoon one heaping tablespoon of the ricotta mixture on an eggplant slice. Roll the eggplant one end covers the other. Wrap a slice of bacon/ham/prosciutto around it. Repeat until all 12 slices are done. Lay rolls on a non-stick or ceramic baking pan.
  • Spoon the tomato sauce over the rolls evenly. Use 2 cups if serving the rolls alone and 3 if serving with a side of pasta.
  • Sprinkle over with grated mozzarella and a tablespoon of Parmesan cheese.
  • Bake for 35-40 minutes. Serve alone or with a side of pasta.
3 responses to “Eggplant Rollatini

  1. Bam's Kitchen 7 September 2012 at 7:38 am

    Bacon makes everything taste better.

    • fatma maraiki 11 September 2012 at 5:31 am

      hey staff i miss you
      you r talented as usual
      hey what do you think if i do with chicken breast…..i can roll the chicken breast
      can we substitute the eggplant with something else?
      by the way i did not get a chance to give you the wedding present…(smile)

      • Steffi 11 September 2012 at 4:26 pm

        Hi Fatma!!! Miss you guys, too. 😀 I’m happy here but I miss all my friends and family in KSA plus all the places I used to go. I grew up there, after all, so it’s a huge part of my life. I’ll send you an email so you’ll have my personal email address.

        As for the food… it’s hard to find a replacement for eggplant. Umm… zucchini? hehe. I guess thinly sliced chicken breast would work. Maybe you could reduce the baking time since it’s so easy to dry out chicken breast. I think turkey or beef bacon is a much better alternative.

Leave a Reply

