The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Comfort Food: Baked Eggs with Summer Vegetables

I felt like eating brunch for dinner. Yesterday was a m-f-ing cold fall day and I needed warm comfort food bad, plus I had to use the last of our garden’s produce. The yellow squash is a particular favorite of mine.

C and I don’t really care for capers so I modified the recipe a bit and substituted it with sliced mushrooms. As much as I love vegetables, I thought that adding little bits of turkey bacon would add to the flavor. When I eat eggs, I don’t think of basil so I took that out and used parsley instead. I also don’t have ramekins — I should have bought that set in Ross, grrr — so I used a single medium-sized glass baking dish to bake it in.

I tried as much as I could to have the eggs placed perfectly on each quarter of the dish. So imagine my annoyance when one of the yolks rolled to the side and would not budge no matter how hard I tried to coax it back to the center. Unfortunately, it broke under my less-than-gentle ministrations. 😦

I would say that this serves four if eaten as a snack or breakfast. But this was just enough for C and I. Besides, if there were four of us here at home, I don’t think the fourth person would appreciate having a broken yolk.

Baked Eggs with Summer Vegetables 

From Dara’s recipe @ The Kitchn

Makes 2 hearty servings

1 1/2 cups yellow squash, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
2/3 cup chopped red tomatoes
5 slices of turkey bacon, cut into 1/3 inch-wide strips
sea salt
freshly ground black pepper
4 teaspoons capers
1/3 cup shredded mozzarella
1 1/2 tablespoons of chopped parsley
4 eggs
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Heat 2 tablespoon of olive oil in a medium skillet over medium-high heat. Add yellow squash, mushrooms, tomatoes, and bacon. Season with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Sauté for 4 minutes, or until the vegetables are just tender.

Remove the skillet from the heat and stir in the mozzarella and 1 tablespoon parsley. Spread the vegetable mixture over the bottom of a glass or ceramic baking dish. I wanted mine extra cheesy so I added a tablespoon or so of shredded mozzarella on top. Make 4 wells in the middle to prevent the egg yolks from slipping to the sides. Crack four eggs into the bowl, taking care not to break the yolks.

Place the dish in the oven. Bake until the whites are almost cooked, 8-10 minutes. Sprinkle each serving with grated Parmesan cheese. Bake for 3 additional minutes, or until the whites are fully cooked and the yolks are still soft.

Sprinkle each serving with the rest of the parsley and serve immediately.

2 responses to “Comfort Food: Baked Eggs with Summer Vegetables

  1. Bam's Kitchen 2 November 2012 at 5:43 pm

    Eggs are not just for breakfast! This dish looks scrumptious and with a big tossed salad and a glass of wine, the perfect little friday night de-stress meal.

Leave a Reply

