The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Tomato, Mushroom and Shrimp Pasta

If Rachael Ray has a You-Won’t-Be-Single-For-Long pasta, I took the next step and made sure the cook will be married by morning. 😀 J/K. This is something that I threw together while Dad and I just arrived and were both hungry. I just came from the gym and my legs were screaming bloody murder. If you like to eat as much as I do, a little maintenance is a must. So, while Dad was doing the dishes, I offered to cook pasta because I don’t think I can eat chicken again for the nth time this week.

The spinach pasta cooks so fast. And make sure it’s al dente, not soggy. I wanted to make it completely vegetarian but that might make Dad a little sad so I added a little shrimp to taste. It’s invented and hurried but it’s surprisingly yummy so I decided to share it.

There isn’t really much more to say so I’ll go straight to the recipe.

Tomato Mushroom & Shrimp Pasta
Serves 4

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
6 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
1 small red bell pepper, sliced in strips
3/4 stick (75 g) butter
1/2 cup of your favorite red wine
4 ounces of small or medium peeled shrimps
425 g sliced mushrooms, canned or fresh
400 g can whole tomatoes
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 tablespoon chopped basil leaves

Pasta:
500 g spinach pasta
1 tablespoon oil
1/2 teaspoon salt

Sauté garlic and onion for one minute in EVOO over medium-low heat. Add the butter and let it melt. Add the chopped bell pepper and shrimp. Add the red wine. Let it cook for 3 minutes. Add the mushrooms and stir around the pan. Add salt and pepper. After 3-4 minutes, add the tomatoes, squishing or cutting the tomatoes with a spatula as you stir slowly. Add the basil. Let it simmer for 12-15 minutes.

While the sauce is cooking, bring the water to a boil in a pot. Make sure the water is only enough to cover the pasta, there’s no need to drown it too much. When it boils, add the oil and salt. Then, add the pasta. Boil it a few minutes less than the number indicated in the package. The pasta should be al dente and not soggy. Drain the pasta, rinse in cold water for a few seconds, and transfer to a different bowl.

The sauce should be about ready. Add more salt and pepper to taste if it’s too bland for you.

Enjoy!

Note (31 Dec 2011): I made this dish with linguine and large peeled shrimps. This recipe is pretty versatile, you can add or or change ingedients according to your taste. 

One response to “Tomato, Mushroom and Shrimp Pasta

  1. Pingback: Roasted Pork with Apricot Preserves « The Virgin Stove

Leave a comment