The Virgin Stove

Making everything for the first time

Spinach in Garlic

Do you know what my favorite side dish is? No, it’s not mashed potatoes. Actually, I don’t really like mashed potatoes though I’d eat it if it was served. Just like okra.

Now where were we?

Just like the title suggests, my favorite side dish is spinach in garlic. This is a very simple, 4-ingredient side dish that my mother taught me years ago. Mashed potatoes pale under the might of the tasty spinach!

This side dish is originally made with kangkong, but here in KSA, kangkong costs 10 SR a bunch while spinach costs 1 SR. And I’m a smart shopper. Plus I figured emulating Popeye’s eating habits couldn’t hurt.

Just like me, mom prefers to slice the bunch of leaves into long, thin strips. But unlike me, she likes to smash the garlic until there is nothing left but garlic juice. Me, I like the texture. So I just chop my bulbs.

Spinach with Garlic
From Mrs. Cristina Fermazi

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 head of garlic, peeled and chopped
1 bunch of spinach, washed thoroughly
2 tablespoons oyster sauce

Procedure:

  • Cut off the bottom part of the spinach bunch, 2-3 inches from the roots. Wash again. Hold the bottom part of leafy bunch and chop the spinach into thin strips, starting from the top.
  • In a saucepan over low heat, pour the EVOO. Add the chopped garlic after a minute or so. Saute until it browns slightly.
  • Add the spinach, stirring occasionally.
  • After 4-5 minutes, add the oyster sauce. Let simmer for a half a minute and take off heat.
  • Serve hot.

This side dish goes well with any type of meat. I particularly love it with fried, marinated, boneless milkfish. *yum*

6 responses to “Spinach in Garlic

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide 26 March 2011 at 6:41 pm

    That looks great. Love spinach and bet it would work with kale too.

  2. Pingback: Cream Dory with Dill « The Virgin Stove

  3. Bam's Kitchen 24 January 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Wow a whole head of garlic. It is great with gailan or Chinese kale. Bam

  4. Pingback: Butternut Squash with Coconut Milk | The Virgin Stove

Leave a comment